About the Aquia Harbour Yacht Club

- Dedicated to Boating Safety, Education, the Environment and Fun.

The Aquia Harbour Yacht Club was established in 1975. The founding member and first Commodore was Bill Fine. Bill remained as Commodore through 1977. Although a small organization, our founding fathers sought early recognition for the fledgling organization. The new AHYC was registered in the Lloyds of London Registry of American Yacht Clubs. Elizabeth Irwin designed the original AHYC Burgee. Officers in the founding organization were Bill Fine - Commodore, Don Hanson - Vice Commodore, Sue Johnson - Secretary, and J.D. Moore - Treasurer.

                  Although remaining a small organization, the AHYC soon became a respected member of the Potomac River Yacht Clubs Association (PRYCA) and the Chesapeake Bay Yacht Clubs Association (CBYCA). The club remained small during the eight following years. Commodores during this period were Bill Fine: 1975-1977, Byron Irwin: 1978-1979, Eddie Campbell: 1980, and Bill Fine: 1981-1983.

                  In 1983 the AHYC began a period of transition and growth, which has evolved to where we are today. From 1983-1985, the club began developing a foundation on which to build for the future. The evolution and maturation has continued since those early days in 1983 to a point where, today, the Aquia Harbour Yacht Club is "First on the Water." Commodores during this period of excellence were Jim Ifland: 1983-1985, Sam Work: 1985-1987, Ken Kelly: 1988, Ray Stuchell: 1989, Dave Goodman: 1990, John Hancock: 1991, Bill Sutherland: 1992, Ron Cournia: 1993, Sam Hess: 1994, Mike Leahy: 1995, Curt Johnson: 1996, Phil Bolin: 1997, Randy Semper: 1998, Bonnie Campbell: 1999, Sandie Doucette: 2000, Claudia Edgar: 2001, Bill Minchin: 2002, Darrell Edgar: 2003, Judy Goodman: 2004, Terry Schneider: 2005, Carlos Ruiz: 2006, Thomas Kenavan: 2007, Susan West:2008, Jim Haislip: 2009, Dodi Bunker: 2010, Bob Stephens: 2011 & 2012; Dan Farrell: 2013 & 2014; David Hazlett: 2015, Amy Hager: 2016, Kevin Gilson: 2017, Dave McKnight: 2018-2020, Linda Whitson: currently serving in 2021.

                  Today the AHYC is a multi-faceted organization dedicated to our motto: "Boating Safety, Education, the Environment, and Fun." In addition to unparalleled social and boating calendars, we are seriously pursuing boating safety and training, community involvement, and legal and legislative activities. Leadership of the AHYC not only includes our Bridge structure, but also many active committees, involving many members of the organization.